Due to concerns in regards to COVID-19 and the impact the virus continues to have around the country and the world, CantoMundo has decided not to hold the 2020 retreat scheduled at the University of Arizona’s Poetry Center in Tucson this June. The conference will be postponed until Summer 2021.  This decision was made in cooperation with the University of Arizona Poetry Center in consideration of the health and safety of our fellows and the community at large. The decision to cancel was a difficult one, but ultimately we prioritized our fellows’ health and that of the comunidad. 

CantoMundo’s 2020 focus will shift to regional programming and support of our fellows. We look forward to continuing our mission of supporting Latinx poetics in new ways this year and onwards.

In support and solidarity,

The CantoMundo Organizing Committee


The CantoMundo retreat is an opportunity to build community among other Latinx poets and work on poetic craft. Fellows are divided into two groups of 12-15 poets. Both groups participate in a three-hour generative workshop, and all poets get to work with both faculty members. In addition to the generative workshop, fellows will attend a keynote lecture and participate in panel discussions. Finally, all fellows will present their poetry during public readings on the Friday and Saturday evenings of the retreat.


Admission to CantoMundo is granted through a competitive process. The pool of applicants changes each year, so if you are not admitted the first time you apply, we encourage you to resubmit in subsequent years. Applications are reviewed by the Organizing Committee of CantoMundo.

The 2020-2022 retreats will be held at the University of Arizona Poetry Center in Tucson, Arizona as part of our ongoing partnership. 

CantoMundistas at the retreat sit in a circle of red chairs


Retreat Instructors & Keynote Speakers

  • 2010: Martín Espada and Demetria Martínez. Keynote by Toi Derricotte.

  • 2011: Naomi Ayala and Benjamin Alire Sáenz. Keynote by Vikas Menon.

  • 2012: Aracelis Girmay & Roberto Tejada. Keynote by E. Ethelbert Miller.

  • 2013: Valerie Martinez & Willie Perdomo. Keynote by Natalie Handal.

  • 2014: Rafael Campo & Lorna Dee Cervantes. Keynote by Sherwin Bitsui.

  • 2015: Sandra María Esteves. Keynote by Tim'm West.

  • 2016: Juan Felipe Herrera & Carmen Tafolla. Keynote by Natasha Trethewey.

  • 2017: Rosa Alcalá & Rigoberto González.

  • 2018: Daniel Borzutzky & Ada Limón. Keynote by Douglas Kearney.

  • 2019: Monica De La Torre & Natalie Diaz. Keynote by Patricia Smith.

  • 2020 (now 2021): Brenda Cárdenas & Urayoan Noel.